• September 20th, 2018
Login / Register

KPMG Namibia Changes Name

By Staff Reporter WINDHOEK Beginning October, the local KPMG Chartered Accountants group will be known by their new name, Swart Grant Angula. Senior Partner Gerard Swart announced in a press statement yesterday that the firm of chartered accountants would be operating under the name and style of Swart Grant Angula as a truly Namibian firm of substance. The aim, he said, is to remain a company that provides excellent services to the Namibian market, with more local focus than before. "The decision was reached after discussions with KPMG South Africa, and it was agreed that the local market would best be serviced by a strong local firm. "Proper transitional arrangements have been agreed upon with KPMG, and our close and good working relationship with KPMG will remain," said the senior partner, who is the managing partner. According to the agreement of Swart Grant Angula and KPMG, the firm, wherever possible, will continue to service local operations of international KPMG clients. The firm is the oldest firm of chartered accountants in Namibia, having been established in 1947. It operated under the name P J Malherbe & Co until 1991, when it became part of the international firm of KPMG, with which it has been associated since 1976. The firm has a staff complement of ninety, which includes offices in Windhoek and Walvis Bay. Swart said the company's strength lies in the quality of its staff, hence, the firm's commitment to the training of Namibians. At present, the firm has twenty-five bursary students, while through the years the firm has produced hundreds of auditors and accountants for the local market. According to the press release, Ally Angula will be admitted to the partnership as from 1st October 2006, due to the firm's belief in her abilities and that her dynamic personality will further strengthen the firm. Gifford Swart has decided not to join the new dispensation and will leave the accounting firm on 31st August 2006. The other partners include Willem Boshoff, Willie Oosthuizen, Wouter Van Wijk, Robert Grant, Martin Du Plessis and Ally Angula.
2006-07-28 00:00:00 12 years ago
Share on social media

Be the first to post a comment...