• September 24th, 2018
Login / Register

NFA Two-Horse Race Intensifies

By Kuvee Kangueehi WINDHOEK With the date for the Namibia Football Association (NFA) Congress closing in, the campaign to lead Namibian football for the next five years has been intensifying. Although the nominations for presidency have not yet been forwarded, the battle lines have been drawn and the presidential race appears to be a two-horse race between current acting NFA president John Muinjo and former Blue Waters FC chairman Hendrik Davids. After the failed coup d'ÃÆ'Æ'Æ'ÃÆ''šÃ‚©tat by a group which called themselves the interim committee to oust Muinjo and his executive from the Soccer House, the world's football governing body FIFA has intervened and put up a road map. FIFA's representative, Ashford Mamelodi, has been frequenting Namibia to oversee that the FIFA road map is implemented. Mamelodi so far has attended a number of regional executive elections in the different regions. The Independent Election Committee, which is being led by Agnes Tjongarero, conducted elections in most of the regions, and only three regions are outstanding. The Committee is expected to oversee elections this afternoon in Gobabis, Omaheke Region. Otjozondjupa and Erongo are the two other regions still outstanding, while the outcome of Namibia Premier League (NPL) chairperson elections and the elections in Kunene Region are strongly contested. The Committee was expected to meet last night to discuss the results of the two elections being contested. With Namibia scheduled to take on Ethiopia in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier, the Namibia Football Association (NFA) has called on the Brave Warriors' hopefuls for the training camp in the capital. Namibia will engage Ethiopia in their second AFCON qualifier after having been beaten by the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) by 3-2 in their first campaign. The team manager, Marcus Damaseb, informed Nampa yesterday, Tuesday, that the official list of players to play Ethiopia would be known early next week. Players called are: Athiel Mbaha, Arnold Subeb, Abisai Shiningayamwe, Michael Pienaar, George Hummel, Jeremia Baisako, Franklin April, Letu Shatimwene, Robert Nauseb, Collin Benjamin, Brian Brendel, Jamunovandu Ngatjizeko, Henrico Botes, Rudolf Bester, Nelson Akwenye, Freedom Puriza, Costa Kheiseb, Heini Isaacks, Hartman Toromba, Brian Gurirab, Victor Helu, Quinton Jacobs, Richard Gariseb, Garry Kheister and Nelson Geingob.
2006-09-27 00:00:00 11 years ago
Share on social media

Be the first to post a comment...