• September 23rd, 2018
Login / Register

Juniors Dominate Inaugural Golf Tourney

By Staff Reporter WINDHOEK A new tournament, simply titled "The Winter Classic" saw the light of day when the Namibian Amateur Golf Union (NAGU) hosted the two-day tourney at the Windhoek Golf and Country Club last weekend. The tournament, which attracted a significant number of top golfers, was played over 36 holes on Saturday and 18 holes on Sunday fin both the A and B divisions. The C Division and the Ladies Division were played over 18 holes on Saturday and 18 holes the following day on a Stableford format. The playing conditions were not exactly easy, with the greens playing havoc and only the best players were able to negotiate their way around the various holes. After the first round on Saturday morning, five juniors found themselves amongst the leading pack and after the last round on Sunday the juniors still had no intention of abandoning the company of the elders. At the prize-giving ceremony both Neels Jafta, president of NAGU and Adri Basson (founder of Junior Golf Development in Namibia) called on all established golfers and sponsors to assist the juniors with as much effort as possible. He said: "Only then will we have competitive golfers to represent Namibia internationally in the future and without sponsors such as Spes Bona Motors and the Namibian Golf Academy, these kind of tournaments would not be possible." The Final Results: Overall Winner Gross and Champion Glen de Waal (jnr) 222 Overall Runner-up Gross Charl Du Preez (jnr) . 226 Overall Winner Nett Janco Oosthuizen (jnr) 209 Overall Runner-up Nett Ruan Huysamen(jnr) 217 1st Place A-Division Gross Stefan Short (jnr) 228 Runner-up A-Division Gross Gavin Thorpe 231 1st Place A-Division Nett Roux Jeffery (jnr) 221 Runner-up A-Division Nett Herman Namene 222 1st Place B-Division Gross Johan van Graan 251 Runner-up B-Division Gross Ferdie Graupe 253 1st Place B-Division Nett Ian Wood 219 Runner-up B-Division Nett Johan Le Riche 224 1st Place C-Division Ken Howard 71 Points Runner-up C-Division Wilfried Sentefol 68 Points 1st Place Ladies Division Daphne Howard 80 Points Runner-up Ladies Division Larissa Jafta 74 Points
2008-07-01 00:00:00 10 years ago
Share on social media

Be the first to post a comment...