• September 25th, 2018
Login / Register

National Enduro Championship gets rolling

  Windhoek After an extended break, the annual Bank Windhoek National Enduro Championship series is to continue with round four at Farm Neu Heusis on Saturday. In the motorbikes up to 200 cc (Class 1), current championship top three riders, Marcel Henle (KTM), Tommy Gous (Yamaha) and Ingo Waldschmidt (KTM), go into the race separated by six championship points only. Henle snatched the lead from Gous with his victory in the last event at Aranos, while Waldschmidt (KTM), who lost points due to technical reasons in the first event, worked himself back within striking distance. At Neu Heusis, where Waldschmidt won last year, he will seek to move closer to the championship lead. The situation is equally close in the motorbikes class with 250 cc and higher. Current leader, Pascal Henle (KTM), who had a tough time in Aranos finishing 5th , only has a one point lead over Kai Hennes (KTM), while Björn Bierbrauer (Yamaha) is two points further adrift. Last year’s champion, Henner Rusch (KTM), won the last two races of the championship and will be back in contention. In the senior motorbike riders’ class, Sven Schneidenberger (KTM) looks unstoppable again this year, having won all three races so far. However, Frank Ahlreip (KTM), placed 2nd overall, and Werner Wiese (KTM) tailing in 3rd place, would be ready to challenge Schneidenberger this time around. Jens Rubow (Yamaha), who has been flying to 3 straight victories in a row, will be up against J.L. Oppermann (Honda) and Gary Rowland (Honda) in the Men’s Quad Class (Class 3). The Ladies Quad Class sees the likes of championship leader, Claire Brendel (Honda), last year`s champion, Maike Bochert (Honda), Shannon Rowland (Honda) and Jolly Fourie (Yamaha), battling it out for supremacy. In the Clubmans Class (Class 7), only two championship points separate Gerald Heiser (KTM) and Juergen Gladis (KTM). However, Ben Visser (Yamaha) has proved that it will not remain a two-horse race affair in this particular class, after his victory in Aranos six weeks ago. In the offroad bikes class, Karl-Henz Erni (Yamaha) joined the top 3 in the championship with his first victory of the season in the last event. Championship leader Kurt Hartung (KTM) and 2nd placed junior rider Lenny Bagwitz (KTM) will have to maintain their early season form if they are to remain in the lead. Adam Johnston (Yamaha), Noam Babluki (Kawasaki) and Liam Gilchrist (Husqvarna), will be expected to be at the start in the development class. Farm Neu-Heusis is located 43 km west of Windhoek. Registration and scrutineering for all Windhoek riders will take place on Thursday, June 9, from 18:00 to 19:00, at KTM Namibia, Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo Street, Southern Industrial Area. The race starts at 07h00 with the first bike off the line at 09h00. For further information please consult the Namibian Enduro Club web site www.namibianenduro.com where more information and registration forms are available.  
2016-06-07 11:17:08 2 years ago
Share on social media

Be the first to post a comment...