• September 23rd, 2018
Login / Register

Reese, Dietrich dominate NYTT Championship 

Sport, Sports
Sport, Sports

Windhoek The Namibia Youth Table Tennis Championship held last Saturday had the crowd on the edge of their seats in appreciation of the high standard of table tennis on display. Reese Saunderson and Dietrich Möwes won all their events to collect 3 gold medals each in the girls Under-18 section. No.1 seed Reese from Oranjemund Private School battled it out with No.2 seed Kaitlyn Beukes from Windhoek Gymnasium, but Reese proved too strong, eventually beating Kaitlyn 3-0 to claim the gold medal for the 3rd consecutive year. Bronze medal winners were Nangula Iita and Tanya Masters from the Holy Cross Convent. Nangula went on to win the Under-15 girls final, leaving Jana Hein and Tanya Masters to claim the silver and bronze medals respectively – with the three girls completing a clean sweep for the Holy Cross Convent. In the boys Under-18 section, Dietrich Möwes (St George’s Diocesan) took revenge, with a 3-0 win over fellow SKW stablemate Yannick Bohn (DHPS) - who defeated him at the Seasons Open - to claim gold. Bronze medals went to Kean Tait (Windhoek Gymnasium) and Delton Dreyer (Mariental High School). The Under-15 event was won by Patrick Beggs (DHPS) when he narrowly defeated Raimo Dengeinge (DHPS) to clinch gold. The bronze medal in the Under-15 went to Daneel van der Walt of Windhoek Gymnasium, who produced some fine table tennis and almost upset some of the higher ranked senior players. A number of young athletes made sure the table tennis fraternity takes notice of them, proving that big things can surely be expected in near future from players, such as Fortune Hashoongo, Tiaan Hein, Luca Kessleman, Maximilan Bock, Uatjiri Hewicke, Raica Coelho and Cecile Voigts, who are all 12 years and younger. The Namibia Table Tennis Association (NTTA) is pleased to see the increase in the number of youngsters under the age of 12 entering the sport. Schools interested in taking up table tennis can contact NTTA development officer Theo Beukes at info.ntta@gmail.com.
2016-06-23 12:09:44 2 years ago
Share on social media

Be the first to post a comment...