• February 28th, 2020

Welwitschias are African champions

Sport, Sports
Sport, Sports

Windhoek Namibia’s senior rugby team, the Welwitschias, on Saturday displayed another enticing performance to retain the CAR Africa Cup with a 60-22 win over a hapless Zimbabwean outfit at the Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek. Namibia, who also won the competition last year when they defeated the same opponents, were far superior and too strong for their Zimbabwean counterparts, which saw them leading 29-0 at the changeover. Going into Saturday’s match, Namibia was destined to lift the trophy as their form and overall level of execution firmly placed them at the fore as clear favourites over Zimbabwe. On their way to the weekend’s match, the Welwitschias had to overcome the likes of Uganda and Kenya at home and away. Combined with Saturday’s defeat, Zimbabwe finished their campaign in the 2016 CAR Africa Cup Division 1A without a single victory, having lost both their opening matches against Kenya and Uganga. Namibia has now won the cup six times since its establishment in 2000. There are 23 nations playing in the 2016 Africa Cup. They are split into several divisions. The Africa Cup is an annual rugby union tournament organised by Rugby Africa. The winner of Division 1A, which is the highest-rated group, are crowned Africa Cup champions.
New Era Reporter
2016-08-08 12:35:06 | 3 years ago

Be the first to post a comment...

You might also like...