New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / 15 vie for ECN commissioner roles

15 vie for ECN commissioner roles

2021-05-07  Albertina Nakale

15 vie for ECN commissioner roles
Top of a Page

Albertina Nakale

The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has named 15 candidates who will be interviewed in public to replace commissioners whose terms will lapse later this year.

The terms of office of three commissioners expire on 15 September 2021. National Assembly spokesperson David Nahogandja yesterday said the positions were advertised, and the selection committee shortlisted 15 candidates who will be interviewed at 09h00 on Monday at parliament. 

Interviews held with shortlisted applicants are open to the public, and the committee must in writing recommend to the President eight or less than eight, but a sufficient number of suitable applicants, to be considered for appointment as a member of the commission.

The 15 candidates are Maria Amupolo, Munolwisho Ipangelua, Francina Keendjele, Emmerentia Leonard, Ndilimeke Mavulu, Elsie Nghikembua, Andreas Maseke, Vilyo Ndapopiwa, Joram Rukambe, Hendrik Tjibeba, Ellison Tjirera, Rui Tyitende, Rachel Mundilo, Gerson Sindano and Petrus van Zyl. 

In March this year, the ECN placed adverts in local newspapers, inviting interested parties to apply for appointment as members of the electoral body to replace ECN chairperson Notemba Tjipueja, Ulrich Freyer and Nghikembua, whose terms are ending in September.

The new commissioners will join Gerson Tjihenuna and Evaristus Evaristus, who were appointed to the commission in 2019.

 The Electoral Act, Act 5 of 2014 mandates the ECN to invite interested persons to apply, in writing, for appointment as members of the electoral commission for a period not exceeding five years.  The same act also mandates that the ECN selects not less than 10 but not more than 20 applicants to be interviewed by a selection committee. 

Tjipueja, Freyer and Nghikembua’s terms end on 15 September. Tjipueja and Freyer would have served the institution for 10 years on 15 September and, therefore, will not be eligible to re-apply. 

Nghikembua has served the institution for five years, and will be eligible to re-apply.

Nahogandja said members of the public and media wishing to attend the interviews must take note that the restrictions in terms of the Public and Environmental Health Act 1 of 2015 relating to Covid-19 will be adhered to.

Equally, the National Assembly reserves the right to limit numbers due to the venue being used for the purposes of the interviews, in line with the aforementioned regulations, to adhere to social distancing.

However, those who want to follow the proceedings can do so on Parliament’s Facebook page, where the interviews will be streamed live.

2021-05-07  Albertina Nakale

Share on social media
Bottom of a page