New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Five-horse race for Ncamagoro by-election

Five-horse race for Ncamagoro by-election

2021-11-10  John Muyamba

Five-horse race for Ncamagoro by-election
Top of a Page

RUNDU – Five candidates will take part in the Ncamagoro constituency by-election slated for 17 December this year, the Electoral Commission of Namibia confirmed. 

The by-election has been necessitated by the death of councillor Johannes Sikondo, who died on 19 September this year. 

The law dictates elections should be held within 90 days in an event of a vacancy. 

Swapo will again contest the election and has fielded Thomas Kavau for the vote, while the Popular Democratic Movement will be represented by Chimbango Frans as candidate. 

The Independent Patriots for Change has fielded Tjiwawa Kambinda, while two independent candidates Nyundu Moses and Shindimba Ladislaus Poroto are also contesting. 

“Due date for nomination of independent candidates was 3 November; final day for submission of nomination political parties was Friday, 5 November,’’ said ECN’s corporate communications and marketing manager Lina Ndengu. 

According to Ndengu, the ECN has completed with supplementary registration of voters (SRV), which was successfully conducted from 12 to 14 October. 

“Other key dates are training of election agents and police officers slated for 8 to 9 December. Training of polling officials from 10 to 14 December, and election day is 17 December,’’ she noted.  

“We have displayed for objections on 19 October, and no objections were received. No major challenges were reported during the conduct of the SRV.” 

According to ECN, Ncamagoro constituency has a total of about 3 806 registered voters.


2021-11-10  John Muyamba

Share on social media
Bottom of a page