New Era Newspaper

Icon Collap
Home / IPC takes over regional council

IPC takes over regional council

2020-12-03  Eveline de Klerk

IPC takes over regional council
Top of a Page

SWAKOPMUND – Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) councillors have taken over the Erongo Regional Council, with Swakopmund constituency councillor Ciske Howard-Smith elected regional council chairperson. 
Her fellow IPC leader and Walvis Bay Rural councillor Florian Donatus will serve as a member of the management committee along with Swapo’s Benitha Imbamba, who is also councillor of Arandis constituency.

Walvis Bay Urban councillor Deriou Benson, who is also an IPC leader, United Democratic Front’s Daures councillor Kennedy Haoseb and Melamnia Ndjago, who is Swapo’s Karibib councillor,  will represent the region in the National Council. 
Erongo governor Neville Andre congratulated the councillors in their additional positions, saying the residents of Erongo has spoken and that it is now time they take up their responsibility to serve with humility and dignity.

“However, you should be mindful of your mandate as enshrined in the constitution. Your main responsibility is to plan and develop the region in a sustainable manner for the benefit of all it people. This includes both constituencies and settlement mandate constitution of the reginal council as articulated in the constitution,” Andre said.  

He also thanked former councillors Knowledge Ipinge and Juuso Kambueshe for serving the region to the best of their abilities without any political interference.
“You have certainly raised the bar during your hard work. Hence, I have no doubt that the current leadership will continue and execute their duties to the best of their abilities to make Erongo region great,” Andre said.

2020-12-03  Eveline de Klerk

Tags: Erongo
Share on social media
Bottom of a page