New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Katutura Fashion Week Awards kick off

Katutura Fashion Week Awards kick off

2021-08-30  Staff Reporter

Katutura Fashion Week Awards kick off

Staff reporter

In celebration and awarding the unrecognised, known but uncelebrated, or renowned but not awarded individuals in the local fashion industry, the Katutura Fashion Week Awards (KFWA) officially kicked off over the weekend at the Franco-Namibia Cultural Centre (FNCC).

One of the most prestigious fashion events in the country saw 20 deserving fashion figures walk away with accolades. KFWA is complementing the goals and objectives of Katutura Fashion Week (KFW), which is set to continue in November.

Founded by model Dennis Hendricks in 2019, the KFW aims to unite the diverse cultures, ethnicities and traditions of Namibia through the art of fashion and bring global fashion to the people. Speaking to VIBEZ!, the event’s public relations officer Jati Indongo said despite the major setbacks caused by the ongoing pandemic, the event was a success, compared to previous ones.

The turnout at the event was impressive, with nominees and guests who showed up in glamorous styles on the red carpet.

The event was first hosted in 2019. In 2020, the awards were not held because of Covid-19 regulations.

A new category was added to this year’s event, which is International Designer of the Year, to recognise international designers who have been taking part in the KFW since 2019.

The KFW organisers hope to introduce more categories in the future, and to get more sponsors on board to support the event.


KFWA Winners 2021

Social Media Influencer of the Year

Armando van Wyk

Modelling Agency of the Year

Jinels Models

Child Model of the Year

Regina Jasmine Sitemo

Plus-Size Model of the Year

Mutale I ya Toivo

Male Model to look out for

Gino Chiappini

Designer to look out for

Maano Ndakondja

Female Model to look out for

Tuyeniko Hipunya

Hair Stylist of the Year

Hair by Nocky

Makeup Artist of the Year

Jay Aeron

Stylist of the Year

Styled by Martina

Photographer of the Year

Picture Perfect

Beauty Queen of the Year

Erika Kazombaruru

Male Model of the Year

Silvanus Nepolo

Female Model of the Year

Dorothy van Wyk

Designer of the Year

Liebonia Kadhikwa



Media House of the Year

Namibian Sun Newspaper

Industry Corporate Sponsor of the Year

Energy100 Radio FM

KFW Brand Ambassador 2021

Jovina Niigambo and Nadine Kurahumba

KFW Lifetime Achievement Award 2021

Ingo Shanyenge

KFW International Designer of the year

Annety Tantameni (Zambia)

2021-08-30  Staff Reporter

Share on social media