New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / SKW win U/21 football tourney… as fourth edition heads to Oshakati

SKW win U/21 football tourney… as fourth edition heads to Oshakati

2024-05-30  Staff Reporter

SKW win U/21 football tourney… as fourth edition heads to Oshakati

The third edition of the Bank Windhoek Ramblers U/21 football tournament was won by Sport Klub Windhoek (SKW) on Saturday.

SKW emerged as champions after a hard-fought battle against Kasaona Football Academy (FA), which ended 2-1.

The game started with Kasaona FA taking an early lead, stunning SKW supporters with George Gaweseb’s goal that sent shockwaves through the stadium. It looked like Kasaona FA might dominate the match, but SKW showed incredible resilience to come back.

Cruz Uwu-khaeb capitalised on a defensive mistake by Kasaona FA, levelling the score and turning the tide in SKW’s favour. 

The intensity of the match continued to rise, as both teams created chances, but struggled to convert them into goals. Ultimately, SKW’s Mat ‘Haaland’ Plaath emerged as the day’s hero sealing the victory for his side.

Kaizen FA secured a hard-fought bronze medal after defeating host team Ramblers in an intense penalty shootout. The final scoreline was 3-0. 

Bank Windhoek’s Head of Stakeholder Engagement, Corporate Social Responsibility and Sponsorships Bronwyn Moody congratulated all the participants for their outstanding performances during the tournament that took place from 21 to 25 May. 

“All the teams showcased their talent, resilience and fighting spirit on the pitch. The future looks bright for Namibian soccer,” said Moody.

Chairman of Ramblers Soccer Academy, Sedric van Turah, thanked the bank for its unwavering support in making the tournament successful. “We look forward to making the second edition of the Oshakati-tournament even better,” he said.

The tournament further exposes youth academy players who cannot play in the Namibian football calendar’s second division, first division or premier leagues. 

To ensure that the prize money is invested back into the team, the top three winning teams received equipment, instead of actual prize money. 

Ramblers, Deutscher Turn und Sportverein, Athletic Club Football Academy, Swallows, Kasaona, Kaizen Football Academy, Sport Klub Windhoek, and River Heights, were the eight Windhoek-based teams that took part in the tournament. 

The Oshakati edition will take place from 21 to 25 June, with all matches scheduled for Oshakati Stadium.

2024-05-30  Staff Reporter

Share on social media