• April 19th, 2019
Login / Register

Swapo elects new politburo

Politics, Front Page News
Politics, Front Page News

Albertina Nakale Windhoek-President Hage Geingob has urged the newly elected members of Swapo’s politburo, who will serve for the next five years, to carefully study and familiarise themselves with the oath they took when they were sworn into their new roles over the weekend. Eighteen members of the Swapo politburo – the first nine from the male list and another nine from the female list as elected – were sworn in on Saturday. “Comrades, you have been charged. You took your oath. Go and re-read that oath and what it means. Very soon we will start with our job as people have assigned us to do,” Geingob advised the elected members. The politburo consists of 24 members: 18 are elected and two are nominees of the party president. The top four: party president Geingob, vice president Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, secretary general Sophia Shaningwa and deputy secretary general Marco Hausiku, are automatically included. President Hage Geingob is yet to nominate his two candidates to the new politburo. Voting and counting in the election of the new politburo members started on Saturday morning and the result was announced after lunchtime. Commissioner of Oath Sisa Namandje, who announced the new members at a swearing-in ceremony that took place at Parliament building on Saturday afternoon, said a total of 711 votes were cast during the election process. Founding President Sam Nujoma also graced the election and swearing-in of the new members of the politburo. At the same event, Geingob appointed his six members to the party’s central committee. They are Calle Schlettwein, Erkki Nghimtina, Penda Ya Ndokolo, Christina Hoebes, Jennely Matundu, chief liaison officer for Opuwo Town Council, and Collien Van Wyk, a retired teacher from Rehoboth. Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila topped the female list with 66 votes, while Nangolo Mbumba received 62 votes to top the male list. “These lists I have signed off. Every time there is a vacancy you look who is going out. If it’s a representative of NUNW [National Union of Namibian Workers], you don’t have to look at my list. You have to ask them to provide you with a list. “If it comes from the 57 central committee members and there is a vacancy then should you replace through the 57 voted at congress. If it’s politburo and the vacancy is among the 18 voted today, then you come back to my list. If it’s among the two presidential nominees, then the president will nominate,” he said. Female list with number of votes obtained: Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadilha 66 Laura McLeod-Katjirua 63 Doreen Sioka 59 Katrina Hanse-Himarwa 55 Magareth Mensah-Williams 52 Hilma Nicanor 52 Lucia Ipumbu 44 Sirka Ausiku 42 Lucia Witbooi 39 Kornelia Shilunga 36 Christina Hoebes 35 Eunice Iipinge 35 Maria Jagger 31 Eveline Nawases-Taeyele 27 Loide Kasingo 25 Anna Shiweda 19 Lempy Lucas 15 Ida Hoffman 8 Coleen van Wyk 8 Male List with number of votes obtained: Nangolo Mbumba 62 Albert Kawana 51 John Mutorwa 47 Pohamba Shifeta 47 Peter Katjavivi 35 Alpheus !Naruseb 34 Calle Schlettwein 33 Tobie Aupindi 31 Bernard Esau 30 Veikko Nekundi 29 Utoni Nujoma 29 Penda ya Ndakolo 29 Erkki Nghimtina 26 Peya Mushelenga 23 Erastus Uutoni 21 Sacky Shangala 19 Charles Namoloh 18 Tjekero Tweya 18 Uahekua Herunga 17 Asser Kapere 17 Clemens Kashuupulwa 15 Elia Kaiyamo 13 Leon Jooste 12 Festus Ueitele 12 Erginus Endjala 10 Mukwaita Shanyengana 9 Tommy Nambahu 8 Petrus Nevonga 7 Usko Nghaamwa 7 Modestus Amutse 6 Royal /Ui/o/oo 5
New Era Reporter
2017-12-04 08:55:26 1 years ago

Be the first to post a comment...

You might also like...