New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Kavango Central region mooted 

Kavango Central region mooted 

2024-05-21  John Muyamba

Kavango Central region mooted 

RUNDU – The Kavango East regional council has proposed that the region be split into two, with one of the regions to be named ‘Kavango Central’.

The proposal emanates from consultations with communities, traditional authorities and other stakeholders.

The submission was handed to the Delimitation and Demarcation Commission during its regional consultative engagement. 

“The office of the regional governor and the Kavango East regional council consulted regional stakeholders to solicit their inputs, opinions and views in preparation for the meeting with the boundaries’ Delimitation and Demarcation Commission,’’ said regional council chairperson Damian Maghambayi. 

He told the Commission that the objective of the consultations was to collect the inputs and suggestions of the inhabitants with reference to the division of the existing region and re-demarcation of constituencies, local authorities and settlements. 

The regional stakeholders consulted were traditional authorities, community leaders, local authorities, political parties, church leaders, businesspeople, farmers, professionals and the general public.

“The substantive outcome of the meetings is that the current Mukwe constituency be demarcated into three constituencies, namely the Karatja constituency from the boundary of the east (Chetto) to Kake village, while the Thipanana constituency should be demarcated from Kake village to Shambungu, and Ndurukoro constituency from Shambungu to Mbambi. 

In the Gciriku traditional authority, they proposed that the Ndiyona constituency be demarcated in two, namely Dosa constituency from Mbambi to Makena East, and Ndiyona constituency from Makena West to the current existing boundary in Ndiyona settlement,” Maghambayi said. 

During consultations, there were also strong views and justifications that the boundaries of the new proposed Ndiyona constituency be shifted to Nyangana Road. 

The main argument was the future planning and development of the Ndiyona settlement. 

“There were divergent views from residents of the western part of Mukwe constituency, namely that Mbambi, Katenture and Shamangorwa be integrated into the new proposed Dosa constituency, which is in the current Ndiyona constituency, to enhance development and access to public services,’’ Maghambayi noted.  

The community furthermore proposed that Ndonga Linena be demarcated into two constituencies – Nyangana constituency from Ndiyona to Kagcuva, and Ndonga Linena constituency from Kagcuva to Shighuru villages. 

Maghambayi told the Commission that the proposal of the new Kavango Central will have the current Rundu Rural and Rundu Urban constituencies, along with the new proposed constituencies.

The region likewise wants Mashare constituency to be re-demarcated into three, namely Baramasoni from Shandagho to Shamagayigayi, while Mashare constituency will be from Shighuru to Katimba, and Ncaute constituency will be from Yuru to Ehagero village.

 “It was proposed that the name of the current Rundu Rural constituency be changed to Kayengona constituency, and the Shambyu Traditional Authority proposed that Ncuncuni constituency be reintegrated into the new proposed Kavango Central region, [and] alternatively to remove the following villages from the current Ncuncuni constituency ( Mavandje, Sharukwe, Shinguruve, Shikali, Kauti, Ncuncuni, Hamweyi, Naingopo, Dcgwatjinga and Shapirama), and be integrated into Kavango Central,’’ he said.  

Maghambayi added that the integration will make it easy for the inhabitants of Ncuncuni constituency, who are currently in Kavango West, to access services to the regional capital, as it will reduce the distance that Ncuncuni inhabitants travel to Nkurenkuru (the capital of Kavango West) through Rundu (the capital of Kavango East) to go and access services.

On the other hand, some Rundu residents motivated the need to demarcate Rundu Urban constituency into eight constituencies.

“Rundu Urban constituency is in Rundu, and it is the only constituency. Currently, the population of Rundu is over 100 000 inhabitants. I propose that the constituency be demarcated into eight constituencies,’’ said Marcellus Haivera from Rundu, who said service delivery is hampered due to only having one constituency to cater to the vast Rundu and high population numbers.

“This will help us enhance service delivery because Rundu, as we speak, is one of the highest-rated towns in crime statistics. This proposal will help leaders to plan properly. 

When this constituency offices are constructed, they will assist with getting electricity, water and roads in those areas, which currently has no infrastructure,’’ he continued.

The proposed constituencies for Rundu are Kehemu, Rundu Central and Tutungeni, Sauyemwa, Sikanduko and Ndama East and Tuhingireni South.

2024-05-21  John Muyamba

Share on social media