New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Nasa awards nominees revealed…as Swakopmund readies to host top performers

Nasa awards nominees revealed…as Swakopmund readies to host top performers

2023-09-26  Maurice Kambukwe

Nasa awards nominees revealed…as Swakopmund readies to host top performers

Swakopmund will host the 19th edition of the annual Namibia Annual Sports Awards (Nasa), which is scheduled to take place on 28 October at the MTC Dome.

This was revealed during the nominees’ announcement event that was held yesterday at NBC studio in the Northern Industrial area in Windhoek. The event will have 20 categories in total, and it is held every year in recognition of top achievers for
their outstanding performances by sportsmen and women
during the season under review.

The sponsors are led by MTC, Debmarine Namibia, Nampower, Namibia Wildlife Resorts, New Era Publication Corporation 
and Standard Bank Namibia. 

Tickets to this year’s awards will cost N$20 000 for a table for
10 people and N$200 for individuals and federations. Speaking at the unveiling event yesterday, Namibia Sports Commission chief administrator Freddy Mwiya said they opted to take the awards to the coastal town because it will correspond with the other event being organised.

“We have the sports expo happening during the same week, and it only makes sense that the awards be hosted during the same weekend in the same area. This will also reduce costs and assist in planning,” he added.



The nominees:


Namdia/Nasa Coach of the Year 

Brian Sobel Ice & Inline - Hockey Kleophas 

Letu Hamhola – Paralympics

Pierre de Bruyn – Cricket Namibia

Trevor Cormack  - Hockey


Nasa Community Inspiration Award 

Delano Muller - Kickboxing

Run Along – Paralympics

Physical Active Youth – Cycling

Namibia Volleyball Federation – Volleyball


Standard Bank/Nasa Development Programme of the Year 

The Ashburton Kwata Mini Cricket Development Programme – Cricket

NCF BMX Kids on Bikes Programme – Cycling

Physical Active Youth – Cycling

Standard Bank Junior Hockey Initiative – Standard Bank


Debmarine/Nasa Professional Athlete in Diaspora 

Gerhard Erasmus – Cricket

Goodwill Khao – Chess

Peter Shalulile – Football


Nasa Sport Journalist of the Year – Digital 

Brian Munango – Namibia Media Holdings

Strauss Lunyangwe – New Era Publication Corporation


Nasa Sports Journalist of the Year Print 

Limba Mupetami – Namibia Media Holdings

Andrew Poolman – Namibia Media Holdings

Jessy Jackson Kaurasia – Namibia Media Holdings


Nasa Sports Journalist of the Year Radio and TV 

Michael Ditu – NBC

Strauss Lunyangwe – One Africa Television


Nasa Federation of the Year 

Cricket Namibia

Namibia Hockey Union

Namibia Triathlon Federation


Nampower/Nasa Junior Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Alvin Iita – Paralympics

Jeromuis Rooi – Paralympics

Lowisa Shehama – Paralympics


MTC Nasa Junior Sportsman of the Year 

Alfeus Domino, – Amateur Boxing

Josia Katroli – Athletics

Kevin Lowe – Cycling


MTC/Nasa Junior Sportswoman of the Year 

Christine Rotcher – Ice/Inline Hockey

Maja Jeanne Brinkmann – Triathlon

Nyanyukweni Frans – Athletics


NamPower NASA Junior Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability  

Lahja Iipinge — Paralympics

Lize Meyer— Paralympics

Martha Nengola Paralympics


Debmarine/Nasa Sports Team of the Year 

CANA – Zone IV team – Swimming

Cricket Namibia – Richelieu Eagles – Cricket

Junior Ladies National Inline Hockey Team – Ice and Inline Hockey

Special Olympic Unified Basketball Team – Special Olympics


Nasa Sportsman of the Year 

Gerhard Erasmus – Cricket

Ronan Wantenaar – Swimming

Fillemon Nghutunanye – Boxing

Vejakojao Hinda – MMA


NamPower NASA Sportsman of the Year with a Disability

Ananias Shikongo — Paralympics

Johannes Nambala — Paralympics

Rodney Snewe—Special Olympics


Nampower/Nasa Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability 

Caitlin Botha – Paralympics

Lahja Ishitile – Paralympics

Louise Sagaria – Paralympics


Nasa Sportswoman of the Year

Suzelle Pronk – Karate

Vera Looser – Cycling


Nasa Umpire/Referee of the Year 

Claus Schumacher – Cricket

Lars Dobberstein – Ice and Inline Hockey

Pieters De Laray – Triathlon

2023-09-26  Maurice Kambukwe

Share on social media