• June 25th, 2019
Login / Register

Sport awards nominees unveiled

Windhoek – Local golfing sensation Likius Nande, leads a strong field of nominees for this year’s annual Namibia Sport Commission Sport awards ceremony slated for Swakopmund on 27 October.

The short-listed nominees were announced last Thursday night by the country’s presiding sports body, the Namibia Sports Commission. 

This prestigious gathering is held every year in recognition of top achievers for their outstanding performance during the season under review. 

Athletes have been nominated in 14 different categories with the overall winners to be paraded during a gala evening at the Dome in the coastal holiday resort of Swakopmund, Erongo Region.

The short-listed nominees are as follows:  

Best Coach of Year category
Barbara Fernandez Veitia - Namibia Paralympic Committee
Robert Kaxuxuena - Athletics
Tobias Nashilongo - Professional Boxing

Best Sports Development Programme 
NFA Galz and Goals
Kids on Bikes Cycling (also nominated last year)
Rugby Development Programme

Junior Sportsman
Adriaan Grobler - Archery 
Allexander Muller - Cycling
Lance Potgieter - Gymnastics (also nominated last year)

Junior Sportsman with Disability
Alfredo Bernado - Athletics
Bradley Murere - Athletics
Dian Jansen - Javelin and Shot Put (won last year) 

Junior Sportswoman
Carene van Zyl - Gymnastics
Kiana Cormack - Hockey
Quinn Redding - Archery

Junior Sportswoman with Disability
Beatha Hausiku - Athletics
Emilia Musenge - Athletics

Most Outstanding Sportsman of the year 
Likius Nande - Golf
Jonas Junius - Amateur Boxing
Tristan de Lange - Cycling

Best Sportsman with Disability 
Ananias Shikongo - Athletics (also nominated last year)
Johannes Nambala - Athletics (won last year) 

Best Sportswoman of the Year
Helalia Johannes - Athletics
Magreth Mengo - Indoor Hockey
Natascha Rottcher - Water Ski

Sportswoman with Disability
Johanna Benson - Athletics (also nominated last year)
Lahja Ishitile - Athletics (won last year) 
Sylvia Shivolo - Shot Put and Discus

Best Sport Team 
Senior Rugby (also nominated last year)
Senior Women’s Indoor Hockey (also nominated last year)
Junior Men’s Inline Hockey 

Patrick Esterhuizen - Professional Boxing 
Jamal Madiane - Gymnastics
Berthold Karumendu - Athletics

Golden Pen Award 
Limba Mupetami - Namibian Sun
Sheefeni Nicodemus - The Namibian
Hesron Kapanga - Nampa

Erongo Red is sponsoring the Erongo Red People’s Choice Sports Star award to be  voted through an SMS line by sending PC and the name of the preferred athlete for nomination to 33033. One SMS costs N$2.
Last year, dethroned world boxing champion Julius Indongo, clinched a double as he walked away with both the Sports Achiever and the Best Sportsman of the Year awards, with veteran marathoner Helalia Johannes voted the finest in the women’s category.

Staff Reporter
2018-10-01 10:11:10 8 months ago

Be the first to post a comment...