New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Extended 45-man squad for Barthés Trophy announced

Extended 45-man squad for Barthés Trophy announced

2022-01-27  Maurice Kambukwe

Extended 45-man squad for Barthés Trophy announced
Top of a Page

Otniel Hembapu

The Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) yesterday announced an extended 45-man squad in preparation for the upcoming U/20 Rugby Africa Barthés Trophy, which is set to be held in Kenya between April and May this year.

The union held successful trials over the weekend, which were attended by a total of 72 players and upon completion of the trials, an extended squad of 45 players was selected as part of the provisional squad for this year’s edition of the U/20 competition. 

With Rugby Africa, the continent’s rugby governing body, yet to officially confirm the age restrictions for this year’s competition, the NRU saw it fit to select an extended pool of players as that will create more selection options for the coaches once Rugby Africa announces the age restrictions in the coming weeks.

The U/20 Rugby Africa Barthés Trophy remains the continent’s only premium junior rugby tournament, and sees U/20 teams from across Africa competing for the coveted title.

The tournament began in 2007 with Uganda as the host and saw Namibia winning the title. Namibia also won the 2017 and 2018 editions of the junior tournament. The competition winners automatically qualify to the next year’s World Rugby Junior Championship organised annually by World Rugby.


The 45-man squad: 


Jano Otto, Lucky Mauha, James Jorries Afrikaner, Iyambo Tshuuya, Dominic Diedericks, Bernd Beddies (availability TBC) and Johann Brockmann.


Upahee Muhuura, Frikkie Engelbrecht, Frederich Grobbelaar and Franco Pearson.


Henri Rossouw, Conwille Draghoender, Christiaan de Sousa, Lister Cochrane and Imbondi Shuuveni.

Loose forwards: 

Luca Cindano, Rowan Jansen, Alexander Jansen, Riaan Grove, Joe Losper, Ray-Eez Feris, Gregory Namaseb and Cody-Dean Dentlinger.


Oela Blaauw, Brian Bayer and Enrique Husselmann.


Nathan Isaacs, Adriaan Steenkamp, Geraldo Beukes, Dhaamin Bassardien and Ethan Koopman.


Rashano van Rooi, Michael Tjazerua, Jonathan Hanekom, Darren Beukes, Patrick Karsten and Niel Holtzhausen

Outside backs:

Owen Hawanga, Quirine Madjiedt, Keenan Januarie, Hendrick van Schalkwyk, Constantine Mazibuko, Janes van Zyl and Bevin Kotzee.


2022-01-27  Maurice Kambukwe

Share on social media
Bottom of a page