New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / ‘Work and suffer for Swapo’… Geingob tells CC members 

‘Work and suffer for Swapo’… Geingob tells CC members 

2022-12-07  Emmency Nuukala

‘Work and suffer for Swapo’… Geingob tells CC members 

President Hage Geingob yesterday reminded party members to put the interest of the party ahead of their personal interest at all times.

He was saying this at the swearing-in of Swapo’s newly-elected central committee members in Windhoek yesterday. “You must work and suffer,” Geingob remarked. 

“When you take the oath ‘that I shall execute my duties with honesty, loyalty and dedication to the best of my ability’. Some people suffered but carried out their duties with loyalty. We have you now as a new breed of Swapo members. You shall not divulge what has been discussed at the politburo, CC, offices of Swapo or anything to anybody else outside. If you have problems with Swapo, come to Swapo, please.” Lawyer Joshua Kaumbi, who oversaw the elective congress recently, was on hand to administer the oath-taking. Kaumbi’s team’s error led to a wrong list of CC members being read at the end of the congress.  

A contentious verification process followed which led to the new members being announced in the wee hours of Saturday.  Geingob reminded them that they took an oath to uphold and defend the party.

“Wherever Swapo is attacked, wrong or right, you defend! Then you will come later on and complain. Go and defend Swapo. Go and carry out Swapo’s instructions,” said Geingob, stopping his address with an “amen”.

The CC consists of 70 members elected at congress, plus six appointed by the president, the secretaries of each wing, the party-affiliated union, 14 regional coordinators as well as the president, vice-president, secretary general (SG) and deputy SG. 

The CC also consists of several permanent members including former Swapo presidents Hifikepunye Pohamba, Sam Nujoma and struggle stalwart Vinia Ndadi. 

Former prime minister Nahas Angula, Jerry Ekandjo, Charles Namoloh, Calle Schlettwein, Doreen Sioka and Albert Kawana are the other permanent members.

After the swearing-in ceremony, a member who claimed to have been on the list, Martha Eelu indicated that she was not sworn in.

Eelu said she was ninth on the first list of female CC members read at the congress.

She was told to wait. 

Eelu and Lydia Isacks told journalists afterwards that the party apologised to them and that they consider the issue resolved.

New CC member, executive chairperson of the National Youth Council, Sharonice Busch said she was honoured and privileged to represent the party at the highest decision-making platform between congresses. 

“As a young person, it is an opportunity to meaningfully represent the aspirations of the youth of the Swapo Party,” she said. 

Busch was appointed by Geingob with Otjiwarongo constituency councillor Marlyn Mbakera, Otjozondjupa governor James Uerikua as well as southern-based politician Laurencia Stephanus, lawyer Sisa Namandje and retired army general Martin Shalli. 

Willem Amutenya, former Swapo Party Youth League secretary for legal affairs, was also elated to be in the CC. 

 “I feel victorious for my generation. We have been on this youth agenda (youth inclusivity), which was started by the youth leaders before us,” he said.

“This time around, we have five SPYL members in the CC, a
satisfactory representation of the youth in the highest decision-making body of the party. Our president further demonstrated his trust in the young people by including young people in his six appointments to CC. The youth
have won this time. 

“This victory is for the youth, therefore, we should forge ahead and play our part as Namibian
youth for the development of our country.”

2022-12-07  Emmency Nuukala

Share on social media