Residents implored to promote their towns

Home Business Residents implored to promote their towns


Namibians are being urged to promote their towns during this year’s Namibia Town of the Year SMS competition, and thereby boost tourism.

This was the message at the launch of the competition yesterday in Tsumeb.
Thirty-eight towns are participating, except Ongwediva which emerged victorious last year when the competition started.
Namibians have an opportunity to vote for the town of the year through SMS. The competition is sponsored by Namibia Media Holdings, Nedbank Namibia, Coca-Cola Namibia, Pupkewitz Nissan, Vivo Energy, Channel 7 and the African Leadership Institute.

The 38 towns are divided into four regional groups, namely, north, west, north-central and south.
The four area winners will compete against each other at the 2017 Namibia Tourism Board Expo during the national finals in May. The area winner will receive editorial and advertising coverage valued at N$50 000 and the national winner will receive an additional N$200 000.

One lucky draw SMS entrant will receive a N$1 000 cash prize after the announcement of each area winner.