New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Shitembi, Ketjijere back in the fold Stephanus loses out

Shitembi, Ketjijere back in the fold Stephanus loses out

2023-08-15  Maurice Kambukwe

Shitembi, Ketjijere back in the fold Stephanus loses out

Two former Brave Warriors captains, Ronald Ketjijere and Petrus Shitembi, have been recalled to the Brave Warriors team that will face South Africa in a friendly match.

Brave Warriors head coach Collin Benjamin announced a 43-man training squad for the upcoming friendly against Bafana Bafana on September 9, as well as for the African Nations Championship (Chan) qualifiers. The team is expected to assemble on the 21st of this month.

The team announced yesterday includes regulars such as Mamelodi Sundowns talisman Peter Shalulile, Orlando Pirates midfielder Deon Hotto, defender Ryan Nyambe, Maritzburg United striker and former African Stars player and now Maritzburg United forward Joslin Kamatuka, as well as Riaan Hanamub of Amazulu. Notable players who have been omitted are Steven Damaseb, who is currently in Egypt trying to secure a team, Junior Petrus, who moved to a new club and is settling in, and Awilo Stephanus, who misses out on the call-up following his retirement from international duty.

Benjamin has also called up new faces in the squad, including Alfeus Leev of Chula Chula, Mervin Kasetura of Prison IV, and Okakarara Warriors FC’s Utjevera Rukata. Making a comeback to the Brave Warriors fold are veteran midfielders Ronald Ketjijere and Petrus Shitembi, who have both not played for the national team since the Afcon in 2018 in Egypt.

Making the announcement at a press conference yesterday, Benjamin explained that the inclusion of players like Rukata and Leev from Chula Chula is due to the roles they played in ensuring their teams promotion to the top-flight league. He said, “Rukata is a central defender who played a significant role in his team’s promotion to the league’s top-flight football. 

The Chan platform is for every local player in Namibia who we see potential in. Additionally, Leev is young and promising, with the potential to make a significant impact up front.”

Regarding Ketjijere’s return, Benjamin said, “We could write a whole book about Stigga. I see his commitment, work ethic, mentality, and attitude at his club training. He demonstrates exceptional leadership, and I believe there is no player in Namibia as dedicated as he is. 

We have discussed his role, clarifying that he is coming here to assist the team in the short term. He will lead these boys, especially because we have many young players on the team. 

Through his attitude, he will assume some of the responsibilities that a coach is supposed to handle.”

Addressing Stephanus’ exclusion, Benjamin stated, “The player has made it clear that he will no longer be playing for the national team.”

Goalkeepers: Loydt Kazapua (Chippa United FC), Kamaijanda Ndisiro (African Stars), Jonas Mateus (Orlando Pirates), Mervin Kasetura (Prison IV), and Immanuel Immanuel (Blue Waters FC).

Defenders: Ryan Nyambe (Unattached) Ivan Kamberipa (Orapa United) Erasmus Ikeinge (NAMPOL) Kennedy Amutenya (Gaborone United) Charles Hambira (African Stars) Given Mutuezu (Mighty Gunners), Denzel Haoseb (Black Africa), Utjevera Rukata (Okakarara Warriors), and Annanias Gebhardt (Baroka), Riaan Hanamub (Amazulu), Tuli Nashixwa (Ramblers), Approcius Petrus (KF Liria Prizen), and Brandon Neibeb (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Reverend Matroos (Young Brazilians), Devin Somseb (Life Fighters), Ngero Kaanjuka, Paulus Amutenya (UNAM), Ronald Ketjijere, Uetuura Kambato (African Stars), Lawrence Doeseb (Life Fighters), Dynamo Fredericks (Jwaneng Galaxy), Marcel Papama (Township Rollers), and Prins Tjiueza (KF Liria Prizen).

Forwards: Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers) Joslin Kamatuka (Maritzburg United) Peter Shalulile (Mamelodi Sundowns) Bethuel Muzeu (Black Leopards) Alfeus Leev (Chula Chula) Romeo Kasume (Ongos FC), Deon Hotto (Orlando Pirates SA), Wendell Rudath (Jwaneng Galaxy) Edmar Kamatuka (African Stars) Erwin Tjiuju and Eliakim Jaddson (Life Fighters) Petrus Shitembi, (9 Kuching City) and Tjipenandjambi Karuuombe (UNAM FC) Simon Elago (Ongos FC) and Nehemiah Ndengu (Prison IV)

2023-08-15  Maurice Kambukwe

Share on social media