Hei to rub shoulders with the big boys

Home International Hei to rub shoulders with the big boys
Hei to rub shoulders with the big boys

Maqonda Ndlovu


African Stars executive chairman Salomo ‘Gazza’ Hei is set to leave for Egypt on 29 November to attend the Confederation of African Football (Caf) African Club Association (ACA) General Assembly in Cairo on 30 November.

Speaking to New Era Sport, Hei said the event will see African Stars represented at the establishment of the Association of Clubs from 30 November to 2 December.

“There is a general feeling that there is a lack of representation for smaller clubs on the continent. We will discuss how football on the continent can improve, why teams should play four preliminary rounds in Caf competitions, and so on. We will also try and find solutions to closing the gap between smaller clubs and your Al Ahli and Mamelodi Sundowns on the continent,” Hei said.

He added that Stars is the only club from Southern Africa that was invited to this event, a situation that proves that, as a club, Stars are on the right path.

Hei said his presence at this event will help influence policy decisions, help Caf understand the teething problems for smaller clubs on the continent and understand the state of African football at the continental level, while finding ways to grow finances for these clubs.

He said this invitation means a lot to Namibia because other clubs will reap the joys of decisions emanating from such meetings.

“We will discuss issues such as improving stadium infrastructure on the continent. We will try to understand how football is being perceived on the continent. People are taking note of what African Stars are doing at domestic and continental levels. For us, we must continue doing what we do,” Hei said.

He added that Stars is the only Caf-licenced club and member of the ACA that is committed to pushing the agenda of professionalising football in Namibia. The meeting will comprise 15 club representatives from 12 African countries and two from France.

These countries are Angola, Benin, DR Congo (2), Egypt, Gabon, Guinea, Namibia, Somalia, Sudan (2), Tunisia and France (2)