New Era Newspaper

Icon Collap
Home / IPC earns Swakop mayoral chain

IPC earns Swakop mayoral chain

2020-12-01  Eveline de Klerk

IPC earns Swakop mayoral chain
Top of a Page

SWAKOPMUND - Change has come in a big way for the residents of Swakopmund who for the first time in decades will not be served by a Swapo mayor at least for the next 12 months. 
This is after Independent Patriots for Change member Louisa Kavita was sworn-in yesterday as the mayor of Swakopmund - a position enjoyed by Swapo councillors over the years. 

Also, in another first for Swakopmund, United Democratic Front councillor David Am-Gabeb was elected the deputy mayor, while Wilfred Groenewald of the Swakopmund Residents Associations (SRA) was elected chairperson of the powerful management committee. 

He is deputised by Claus Goldbeck from IPC, while Petrus Shimhanda also from IPC and Landless People’s Movement councillor Blasius Goraseb are also management committee members, along with Matias Heinrichen of SRA.
Swapo members, Erkkie Shitana, Saumma Kautondokwa and Hafeni Heinrich Nghidipa are ordinary members of the ten-member council. Accepting her election during the swearing-in ceremony, Kavita said that she is looking forward to work and serve the residents of Swakopmund. 
“One does not need a degree to serve your people. Your heart needs to be in the right place,” she said.

2020-12-01  Eveline de Klerk

Tags: Erongo
Share on social media
Bottom of a page