New Era Newspaper

New Era Epaper
Icon Collap
Home / Shilongo, Gome return to Warriors provisional squad… Nyambe, Shitembi ruled out

Shilongo, Gome return to Warriors provisional squad… Nyambe, Shitembi ruled out

2021-08-20  Maurice Kambukwe

Shilongo, Gome return to Warriors provisional squad… Nyambe, Shitembi ruled out

Maurice Kambukwe

Interim Brave Warriors’ head coach Bobby Samaria yesterday named a strong 32-man provisional team in preparation for Namibia’s upcoming 2022 Fifa World Cup qualifier clash against Congo-Brazzaville in South Africa next month.

Namibia’s Brave Warriors are set to face Congo-Brazzaville on 2 September at the Orlando Stadium in Johannesburg in one of their vital games, before moving on to confront Togo in another qualifier on 5 September, also in South Africa.

In preparation for those match-ups, Warriors’ gaffer Samaria announced a well-balanced squad, saying they are working around the clock to ensure the team is ready for the encounters.

Regulars in the squad are goalkeeper Virgil Vries, winger Deon Hotto, striker Peter Shalulile, midfielder Wangu Gome, striker Benson Shilongo, midfielders Absalom Iimbondi and Marcel Papama, Manfred Starke and defenders Gebhardt Ananias, Larry Horaeb and Denzil Haoseb. 

Promising youngsters such as goalkeeper Kamaijanda Ndisiro, midfielder Prins Tjiueza, strikers Elmo Kambindu and Monis Omseb were also called up. 

Samaria confirmed that injured England-based defender Ryan Nyambe, who plays for Blackburn Rovers, and box-to-box midfielder Petrus Shitembi have both been ruled out due to an assortment of injuries. 

On the use of a stadium in South Africa as a result of dilapidated stadia in Namibia, Samaria insisted that it will not have any effect on their overall performance.

“It will not have any serious impact on how we will perform against Congo-Brazzaville. A bunch of our professional players are based in South Africa, playing for clubs in that country, which I think will work well to our advantage because it’s like playing at home for them,” he explained.

With the team set to leave for South Africa on the 25th of this month, Samaria said they are planning to secure two friendly matches against local clubs in that country ahead of their clash against Congo-Brazzaville. 


The 32-man squad: 

Goalkeepers: Edward Maova, Ndisiro, Loydt Kazapua and Vries. Defenders: Kennedy Amutenya, Riaan Hanamub, Ivan Kamberipa, Ananias, Horaeb, Teberius Lombardt, Approcius Petrus, Haoseb, Charles Hambira and Immanuel Heita. Midfielders: Dynamo Fredericks, Wendell Rudath, Alfeus Handura, Starke, Gome, Hotto, Iimbondi, Wesley Katjiteo, Papama, Tjiueza and Willy Stephanus. Forwards: Kambindu, Issaskar Gurirab, Omseb, Shalulile, Joslin Kamatuka, Shilongo and Junias Theophilus.


2021-08-20  Maurice Kambukwe

Share on social media